CurseForge

1597 - Streamline file deletion

Please stop asking me to write essays to justify deleting files. There is absolutely no reason to keep old versions of my addons available for download by the general public, so I like to clear them out from time to time. However, CurseForge makes that an incredibly tedious process by forcing me to not only check an extra checkbox and press an extra button to confirm deleting each file, but also writing a reason explaining why I am deleting each file. Does a moderator actually read the reason for every deletion and have the power to reverse the deletion if he thinks the reason is insufficient? If not, why ask me to write a reason at all? It's a waste of time, it's annoying, and it's wholly unnecessary.

A simple confirmation page that asks me click a single "Yes, really delete it!" button is plenty. The checkbox is unnecessary too, but the text box really gets on my nerves. Please get rid of it.

User When Change
Torhal Jul 24, 2013 at 21:14 UTC
Torhal Nov 08, 2011 at 19:19 UTC
Torhal Jun 03, 2011 at 17:03 UTC Changed assigned to from None to prencher
Ackis Feb 01, 2011 at 18:01 UTC Changed assigned to from ckknight to None
Ackis Aug 22, 2009 at 17:47 UTC Changed assigned to from Kaelten to ckknight
Phanx Jul 15, 2009 at 04:37 UTC Create

You must login to post a comment. Don't have an account? Register to get one!

  • 6 comments
  • Avatar of Phanx Phanx Dec 27, 2009 at 01:05 UTC - 0 likes

    Mass delete would be fine.

    As for the "if someone deleted your files" story... has that ever actually happened? And if it did, not only would it almost certainly be the account owner's fault for sharing his password and/or failing to enact decent security on his computer, but I think "you or someone using your account deleted them on <insert date/time here>" would be enough of an answer. Someone maliciously deleting someone else's files is probably not going to write a reason that's more informative than that anyway. The very remote situational usefulness of having a "reason for deletion" on file really doesn't justify the enormous hassle it is for legitimate users trying to legitimately delete files/images/etc.

    Ideally, single deletion would look like one of these:

    1. On the Files page, select "MyAddon v1.4".
    2. On the "MyAddon v1.4" page, select "Delete".
    3. On the delete confirmation page, select one of two buttons (not checkboxes): "Yes, really delete it!" or "No, not really!".
    4. Upon pressing either button, I am redirected to the Files page. If the button pressed was the "Yes, really delete it!", the file is deleted before redirecting.

    Or:

    1. On the Files page, check a checkbox next to "MyAddon v1.4".
    2. At the bottom of the page, press a button labeled "Delete Selected".
    3. On the delete confirmation page, select one of two [i]buttons[/i] (not checkboxes): "Yes, really delete it!" or "No, not really!".
    4. Upon pressing either button, I am redirected to the Files page. If the button pressed was the "Yes, really delete it!", the file is deleted before redirecting.

    And, so that hopefully these things are considered before they are implemented (since stuff never gets changed after implementation), here are some accessibility/usability no-nos to avoid:

    • If there are only two, mutually exclusive options ("Yes" button and "No" button) just make them buttons. Don't require selecting an option and then pressing a separate button - that's just more clicks or keypresses for no good reason.
    • If there is a dropdown menu, don't use JavaScript to submit an option immediately upon selection. Not only does this suck if I accidentally select the wrong option, but some browsers consider an option selected as soon as it's selected (eg. if I'm using the keyboard to scroll through the options) instead of waiting until the dropdown menu loses focus.
    Last edited Dec 27, 2009 by Phanx
  • Avatar of Kaelten Kaelten Aug 25, 2009 at 14:52 UTC - 0 likes

    What it really seems like we need is a mass delete option. So you only have to put in a single reason instead of one for each file.

    The reason we require the description is very simply that if someone was to go in and delete your files off of your project and you said "Why the hell did you guys do that!" then you'd be able to get a solid answer as to why.

    WowAce.com & CurseForge.com Adminstrator
    Check out my new addon, OneChoice, it helps you pick quest rewards faster.
    Developer of Ace3, OneBag3, and many other addons and libraries
    Project lead and Mac developer for the Curse Client

  • Avatar of Ackis Ackis Aug 22, 2009 at 17:47 UTC - 0 likes

    Don't worry about deleting stuff to free up space, they have a boat load of it.

    Yes, I think the system needs to be streamlined because when you have over 100 pages of files and want to delete them, well I just gave up. ;)

    BFAK:Ackis,90710388,2f62cbb4c100385c86df0c1418f5ac5a2cb1a2bc3f2a18f13291792dbb3a1480

  • Avatar of Maziel Maziel Aug 22, 2009 at 12:32 UTC - 0 likes

    I understand the reason behind it too, i mean if a bunch of my files got deleted, it would be easy for Curse to go back and say ok, here's what was posted for the reason.

    ... but I agree with Phanx.

    I delete a bunch of old pictures and beta version to free up space on curse servers and also because they're an old beta that I've updated from. It does get annoying to have to keep posting a reason (this includes image files).

    It would be nice if no reason was needed for non releases / those files categorised as alpha/beta etc.

    for me, isn't the confirmation tick box enough? ((even that becomes annoying but i also understand why it is there)).

    I just think these things should be bypassed for anything that is not a release version of X amount of time old.

    For example, if my file was classified as 'release' and only a month old, then add confirmation tick box and reason box. If older than a month or older game version or not release version, remove tick box and reason box.

    Just my thoughts. :)

  • Avatar of Phanx Phanx Aug 11, 2009 at 07:27 UTC - 0 likes

    Is there any word on if/when the reason requirement will be removed? I don't need to know why I deleted a bunch of ancient files. I also keep backups on my own system, so if I accidentally delete something (unlikely) it's not an issue at all, as I can just re-upload the desired file(s) and/or re-export one from SVN.

    Seriously, every time I go to delete I file it makes me want to throw a Molotov cocktail through the Curse headquarters window. It's just across the San Fransisco Bay from me. I could do it! :O

  • Avatar of Ackis Ackis Jul 28, 2009 at 15:03 UTC - 0 likes

    Hi Phanx, file deletions are not moderated.

    I'm not sure why there's a reason required when deleting the file by authors, I can imagine it's just for auditing purposes should you need to know why it happened.

    I've been asking for an option that will mass delete files older than a certain date.

  • 6 comments

Facts

Last updated
Jul 24, 2013
Reported
Jul 15, 2009
Status
Declined - We decided not to take action on this ticket.
Type
Enhancement - A change which is intended to better the project in some way
Priority
Medium - Normal priority.
Votes
6

Reported by

Possible assignees